Page 54 of 55 FirstFirst ... 44452535455 LastLast

Thread: TSP board to limit interfund transfers

Default Re: TSP board to limit interfund transfers

Quote Originally Posted by James48843 View Post
    Folks- just a little note here.

When the invoked limits, I talked about "costs".

1. Costs to freedom sure. This is classic example. If you pull out now, and you've already moved once or more this month, you are trapping yourself locking in the loss until next month. That is one kind of cost on us they have imposed. So we all must stay in now, on the hopes we recover something before the end of october. We're already the biggest single month decline since the great depression, and there is no end in sight.

2. But the other kind of costs as well. We told them if they imposed limits- the trading costs would go up, not down. they didn't listen to us.
    ANd guess what? The first quarter of data is now in. I'm studying it now.

And costs have soared.
    Through July:

YTD costs for F fund went from 192,000 to 1,552,711
    YTD costs for C fund went from -216,254 to +329,258
    YTD costs for S fund went from -101,308 to + 367,371
    and in July alone, I fund trading costs went from $248,847 to $2,796,494

All of the funds trading costs went up. As basis points, it went up. the dollar volume went down, but the costs soared.

I will be studying the numbers some more, and writing later about this.

You all should be ready to start writing some real angry letters soon.
    Thanks for the update James,

But the board will never admit they made a mistake. Maybe that's why barclays is trying to raise cash and even the UK Central Bank is considering giving them money, though they say they are just fine...hmmmm sounds familiar. So they are definately in a bind and since the Brits and Europeans seem to be lagging somewhat behind us in the whole subprime thing, barclays may be one of those banks to big to fail.