PDA

View Full Version : TSP Board Acting Chairman hates buying low selling high.

Show-me
04-20-2011, 08:34 PM
Did I read this right? Typo or acting idiot in charge? :D:laugh::cool:

http://www.frtib.gov/pdf/minutes/2011Feb.pdf

Ms. Ray reported that participants transferred $1.7 billion from equity funds to the G and F Funds during the last three days of February. Mr. Sanchez remarked that participants do themselves a disfavor by buying low and selling high.

James48843
04-20-2011, 08:58 PM
I do believe sir, that you have that exactly accurate, as reflected in the minutes. The minutes do indeed state he said that we shareholders do ourselves a dis-service when we buy low and sell high. You wouldn't know it, but Mr. Sanchez is a professional banker by trade.

And I will also note the interest rate the G fund is paying-

Ms. Ray reported that the G Fund rate remains at 2.88 percent.
The 30-year T-bond is yielding 4.51 percent and the 10-year note is yielding 3.40 percent Several years ago, the present board discussed at a meeting, the fact that most of the G fund balance was in long term treasury notes- 30 year bonds, and earning much higher rates back then. The discussion at the time was - why is it in 30 year notes, when much of the G fund will be paid out to the current holders before 30 years is up. Ms. Ray's recommendation, as I recall, is to change to short term notes of 3-5 years. She also worried that if all the G fund holder switched OUT of the G fund, they would have to sell a lot of 30 year notes and lower rates. So she recommended shorting the term on all the G fund notes.

So they did.

And as a result, instead of getting 4+ percent interest in the G fund, now G funders are only getting 2.88 percent return.

That folks, is a crime.

My two cents.

Lostdawg
04-21-2011, 04:02 AM
Ship of fools started playing in my head as I read those minutes.

A bit of searching and I realized you can't even contact these people.