PDA

View Full Version : 23yr old looking to be aggresive.

okayDrain
07-31-2010, 07:01 AM
I'm fairly new to TSP (last OCT.) and obviously I'm going to be in for a LONG time. I've been in the G fund since I've started and I'm looking to get pretty involved. I'm under the impression I shouldn't worry too much about what the markets gonna be doing in the next 10yrs. I'm a E-5 in the uniformed services contributing 11% (works out to 265 a month) and make long deployments to sea where I'd like to start spending my time possibly monitoring the market. Any good reading material or sites I could look out for with good info. I also have a Roth IRA, any other suggestions on some things I could be doing with my money?

Thanks in advance for any help you guys have to offer a young sailor :)

My current contribution allocation is:

I 35%
S 25%
C 25%
F 15%

nnuut
07-31-2010, 09:40 AM
Welcome to the Message Board, you've a good start keep that money flowing into your retirement plan and you will reap the benefits when you retire. Now is the time to be careful the Market really doesn't know which way to go and it's really easy to lose right now. So read all you can and check out the Auto Tracker to see what everyone is doing, read Tom's Daily Analysis and the Blogs.
Best of luck!:D
Norman

Bullitt
07-31-2010, 10:39 AM
If you're posting on this site, you'll probably have a hard time not worrying about what the market will do in the next 10 years. Many on this board claim to have a set it and forget it approach only to burn out their 2 IFT's by the third day of the month. On any given day, I'd say about 10% of all internet blogs will be on the right side of the trade so I recommend your library or Borders bookstore as a starting point.

1. A reading list from a fund manager (http://www.forbes.com/2008/01/28/graham-buffett-crescenzi-pf-edu-in_jd_0128soapbox_inl.html?partner=yahootix).
2. Thoughts on a Permanent Portfolio (http://www.tsptalk.com/mb/showpost.php?p=248566&postcount=3).