PDA

View Full Version : I'm New at this, need advice

bklyngal
12-15-2004, 06:14 PM
Hi, I have been contributing to TSP for the last 12 years. I always had 100% in the c fund. My TSP balance is approximately 275K. Recently I moved 40% to S and 25% to I. I currently contribute 13k a year, and get 6.5k matching. Does my new allocation make sense? I will not be retiring for another 17 years. Thanks for all your help .

tsptalk
12-15-2004, 07:35 PM
bklyngal wrote:
Does my new allocation make sense? I will not be retiring for another 17 years.
Welcome bkyngal!

With 17 years left, I'd say yes.

bklyngal
12-15-2004, 10:00 PM
Thanks for your insight. I wish I din't have 17 years until retirement but i do. Since i am not all that financial savy i need confirmation that i am not really messing up.:)

Wheels
12-16-2004, 07:33 AM
With that many years left, an aggressive allocation is a good idea. However my layman's advice is to pay attention to it. You, like so many of us, left your sizeable account balance in the C fund for 3 years (2000-2003)while it headed down. How much more money would you have had (and I), if we had gotten into the G for even half of that time.

Dave

AllexBancs
12-16-2004, 09:36 AM
bklyngal, you have a very nice TSP balance:^. Some things you may want to consider when trying to come up with a TSP asset allocation. They include...how much risk am I comfortable taking on a day to day, week to week, month to month and year to year basis...how much risk do I need to take - you already have a good size TSP balance with 17 years to go, what need do you forsee for this money after you retire (will you even need to live on)...are you a buy and hold investor or a day trader...are you willing to accept the losses (in dollar terms, not percentages - 275K X 50% bear market loss, you are down to a $137,500 balance:X) that can occur with an all stock portfolio.