PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie - NEED HELP

HappyGoLucky
12-08-2008, 12:50 PM
Hi! I am a real newbie to this "game" and really need HELP!!

I have been investing in TSP for over 10 years now and have started to "play" with my contributions some. Unfortunately, I am getting more and more confused and with the recent market downturn, I am in a panic. So much so, that I am in a freeze mode - I haven't changed anything in months, just "riding it out". I have about 21 years until retirement and contribute 10% of my salary.

I am contributing: L2040 20%; C 10%; S 30%; I 40% BUT my allocations are quite different: L2040 50%; S 25%; I 25%

I don't really understand the allocating versus contributing (should they match or should I allocate over to G & F as soon as I earn a respectable amount???) so any insight into that would also be appreciated!

I have lost SO much money in the last 4 months (~$40K). I am completely LOST at this point and don't know what to do - if anything at all.

I appreciate any sound advice (please in LAY terms) as I am going to have a heart attack if I continue to lose money at this pace!! :sick:

Thanks to all and Happy Holidays!
:)

JTH
12-08-2008, 01:26 PM
Nobody here worth their salt is going to advice you on how to invest your own money. As for the L-Funds, they are nothing more than a combination of the GFCSI funds that are rebalanced on a daily basis. Read up on the fund sheets to see what the L-Fund allocations are.

The best advice I can give is the read through the forum to build up your knowledge base. If you're far away from retirement, then I wouldn't sweat it too much, you've already taken the biggest hit, but you have plenty of time to recover.

Birchtree
12-08-2008, 01:36 PM
Yup, learn before you churn. Keep up your contributions and sit tight while you DCA (dollar cost average).

dannyboy
12-08-2008, 02:42 PM