PDA

View Full Version : Reminder- Flexible Spending Accounts

James48843
11-12-2008, 06:08 AM
Reminder-

If you have a Health Care FSA Account, or a Dependent Care FSA account, NOW is the open season to renew for 2009. There are just 26 days left to sig up for 2009, and it does NOT automatically renew each year.

The Open Season for renewing is NOW.

http://www.fsafeds.com (http://www.fsafeds.com/)

This is a benefit- "pre-tax use of money" that was gained through the hard work and lobbying of multiple Federal Employee Unions throughout the 1990's and early 2000's.

You MUST sign up each year to be able to use it.

Callme_CO
11-12-2008, 09:04 AM
ok i'm fairly new to this all can someone explain to me the benifits of the FSA? i'm reading up on it right now but maybe someone could break it down simple for me.

Frixxxx
11-12-2008, 10:06 AM
ok i'm fairly new to this all can someone explain to me the benifits of the FSA? i'm reading up on it right now but maybe someone could break it down simple for me.
This is an awesome way to get the tax benefit up front for medical expenses....Normally, when you try and deduct medical expenses it has to be at least 7% of income. If you use this method, it is not taxed out of your pay. Then anything you buy for "medical" gets expensed to the account. My friend elected to put in 2K for his triplets braces. He thought he could use the money over the period he was paying in to the account. The interesting part was he had access to ALL the money before he even put in. You can expense aspirin, cough syrup, bandaids, all kind of things....Good Luck this year!

Callme_CO
11-12-2008, 10:21 AM
so what about dental stuff. I need dental work that will add up to almost 1500 between my wife and I. will this cover it?

ChemEng
11-12-2008, 10:28 AM
Our FSA has covered 100% of our dental cost for the year.

I would recommend calling the number on their website to make sure your dental stuff is included. (I'm inclined to think yes though.)

Guest2