PDA

View Full Version : Hello all,

RonUSPSretired
09-01-2008, 02:17 PM
I'm a 27 yr Postal veteran, starting out as a Clerk/Carrier, retiring two yrs ago after 19 yrs as a small town Postmaster. I've been a mostly silent member of TSP Talk for a number of years (joined the MB in Feb 08) using mostly the premium svcs, until the board screwed with our IFT's. Yes I'm one of the 3000! Since then I've been unable to completely offset my necessary monthly withdrawls with TSP earnings. I have been considering following 14U and others out of the TSP to trading ETF's through 1st Trade or Vangard etc. I lack the experience using these types of programs, so would like to do more research first. Any help you more experienced members could give would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Ron

XL-entLady
09-01-2008, 02:31 PM
I've been a mostly silent member of TSP Talk for a number of years (joined the MB in Feb 08) .

Hi, Ron! I'd say welcome to the MB, but it looks like you've actually been around much longer than I have! This is certainly a great place to learn more about financial markets while we make and strengthen friendships, isn't it.

Good luck,
Lady

RonUSPSretired
09-01-2008, 02:37 PM
Yes it is! Thanks for your warm welcome, to a finally active oldtimer.
Hi, Ron! I'd say welcome to the MB, but it looks like you've actually been around much longer than I have! This is certainly a great place to learn more about financial markets while we make and strengthen friendships, isn't it.

Good luck,
Lady

Spaf
09-01-2008, 04:22 PM
Ron, welcome aboard!

I use Scottrade for my tax-paid account. Trade cost can add up very quickly. Also watch the sell and buy costs. A complement to TSP would be: Cash=G, AGG=F, IVV=C, IJR=S and EFA=I. Funds quoted are IShares under ETF's. Take your time with this system but do sellect a reputable broker.

Spaf