PDA

View Full Version : How will my TSP monthly payments be taxed by Fed?

secrt007agt
05-29-2008, 07:49 PM
I am retiring at the end of July 2008 from a law enforcement agency and I would like to know how my TSP monthly withdrawals would be taxed? I am 57 and facing mandatory retirement. I am also assuming that if I choose to take monthly installment from my TSP account, that these will not effect my so called SS off-set payments. Thanks I am kinda new at these retirement issues.

roskopfm
05-29-2008, 10:21 PM
it will be taxed as addtional income. You will be liable for taxes at what ever tax bracket you are in. It wont affect your offset. I would recommend to figure out where your tax situation is and take just enough so you dont go into the next tax bracket to maximum the amount you keep after taxes.

Guest2
05-29-2008, 10:47 PM
I have a question. When you retire, do you receive a single check each
month from the government which includes Pension, Suppliment and TSP
Monies ? Or, do any of them come seperate from one another. I would
think that this is a centalized issuing of a single check for all monies. But
I never asked anyone who is currently retired as federal law enforcement
officer. Thanks in advance.
:confused:

XL-entLady
05-29-2008, 10:58 PM
I have a question. When you retire, do you receive a single check each
month from the government which includes Pension, Suppliment and TSP
Monies ? Or, do any of them come seperate from one another. I would
think that this is a centalized issuing of a single check for all monies. But
I never asked anyone who is currently retired as federal law enforcement
officer. Thanks in advance.
:confused:
Unless law enforcement is different than most FERS, you'll get separate checks. And they don't come on the same date either. My annuity (pension) and TSP checks are deposited into my account almost 2 weeks apart.

Lady

Guest2
05-29-2008, 11:09 PM