PDA

View Full Version : TSP Warning Letters

whitemingo
01-28-2008, 01:53 PM
Has anyone else got their warning letters? Mine came today. It states that I am a frequent trader based on the fact that I made more than 3 trades per month during October, November and December. Therefore I must reduce my IFTs to no more than 3 per month starting in February.

rob10000
01-28-2008, 02:21 PM
I got mine today..

Dear XXXXX
As explained below, you have been identified as a frequent trader in the Thrift Savings Plan. Unless you reduce your trading activity to no more than 3 interfund transfers per month, we may require you to request interfund transfers by mail only.

Since the Thrift Savings Plan introduced daily valuation of participant accounts in 2003, it has not restricted the number or frequenct of participant-iniated interfund transfers. However, recently, the frequent trading activity of a small number of participants is resulting in higher transaction costs and reduced return for all participants in the affected TSP Funds - including long term investors who do not generate these costs. Frequent trading is also creating greater risk of performance deviation from the TSP Funds benchmark indexes.

By law, the Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board (which administers the TSP) is required to develop investment policies which replicate the performance of the indexes selected for investment and provide for low expenses. Because frequent IFT activity diminishes the achievement of these goals, the Board is addressing the problem in two ways - (1) Structural changes to the TSP system to implement restrictions on the number of interfund transfers that can be executed per calandar month, and (2) intermin measures designed to lower trade volume in the meantime.