PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone

GValdez
01-04-2008, 12:20 PM
How is everyone?

I'm an active duty SSgt in AF and am currently putting away 33% of my base pay. I'm stationed in Japan so I get a little more money than would see stateside. I've been locked into L2040 about a year know, maybe longer.

I'm still pretty new to this but am extremely interested. I'm trying to learn as much as I can when I can but duty comes first.

I'm subscribed to Money Magazine and Smart Money because I really like the scenarios they publish. It's good for those looking for direction (this guy).

I'm actually trying to study for E6 this year but after that I'm strongly considering lowering my TSP contribution a little and maxing out a Roth every year... What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance for all information/suggestions received!

:)

alevin
01-05-2008, 12:25 AM
Hi GValdez, welcome to the site. I'm pretty new on the site too, but a little older than you at this whole investing thing probably. Sounds like you do way better than me at socking it away, good job! I remember when my brother was studying for E6, a lot of work involved. Hang tough, you'll do it. I used to put the full 10% allowable, then I took a retirement/debt reduction planning class that caused me to modify that. Last few years, I've put 5% in to get the matching, and used the difference to achieve other financial goals, including getting totally out of debt and starting a Roth this year I hope, with what I used to spend on mortgage payments. Others on the site talk about doing things along these lines as well, so you're in good company. Even so, LOTS to learn from folks here. LOTS! I just learned today for example how the F fund is calculated/predicted on a daily basis. I had no idea.

Spaf
01-05-2008, 01:08 AM
Welcome GValdez!

Please check out "compounding" and "expense ratios". Ifn it were me I'd stay with TSP!

How is everyone?