PDA

View Full Version : Long term allocation

grums
10-15-2004, 09:01 PM
Hey all, got some more questions :) First, let me say I do not plan on changing my allocations except to periodically rebalance, as I have 29-30 years to retirement.

I recently changed my allocation from 100% G to the moderately aggressivelong term buy and hold recommendations on this website: 20% G 40% C 20% I 20% S.

I was looking over the tsp.gov 10-year rates of return. If I am reading this right (and I may not be, as I am very new at this), it looks like the highest rates of return were:

C > S > F > G > I

I noticed alot of people saying how bad the F fund is, but according to what I've seen, it had the 3rd highest rate of return over the long term.

I was wondering why all the negative press on the F fund?

I was also wondering what thoughts were on allocating according to the historical rates of return. For example, put a larger percentage in C, then decreasing into S, F, G, and possibly eliminating the I fund altogether?

Keep in mind this is all for the long-term, with few allocation changes, as I dont have the stomach to do what most of you do, though I admire it! :)

Thanks in advance!

tsptalk
10-15-2004, 09:53 PM
Hi grums. As you probably know, past performance is no guarantee of future results. The G and F funds returns don't look too bad vs. the stock funds when you include 2000-2003, one of the worst bear markets in history. I feel the bear is behind us. If you are a market timer, it is time to get aggressive. Since you are not a timer, you have to find a more diversifiedallocation you are comfortable with and stick with it.