PDA

View Full Version : Hello

chezhoy
12-27-2007, 06:53 PM
This is my first year of investing in the TSP. I was wild about moving my money all around but settled down. I invest 10% of my pay...currently $3k per year (which will rise every year). Here's my portfolio: 45% I Fund, 30% C Fund, 25% S Fund.

I am a nut about investing and still learning the ropes. Jim Cramer is my hero and that is one reason I settled down a bit. I was on his show last week for the Lightning Round...cool guy. I highly recommend Stay Mad For Life. I am over halfway through it and read it every chance I get...you could say I am becoming an investing junkie. When nothing else is on TV, it's usually CNBC or Bloomberg Television. I think it's really fun to invest in stocks and taking the time to do the homework on them. I like the energy sector; I have some shares in Evergreen Solar (ESLR) and Pacific Ethanol (PEIX). I think they will take off in the future (or at least I hope they do). ESLR beat it's 52 week high the other day.

I say it's better to start investing at 30, like me, than to wait any longer or not invest at all.

Happy New Years!
Scott

nnuut
12-27-2007, 07:46 PM
Welcome to the board chezhoy, studing is great, wish I had done more of it!!
Norman:D

tmc1045
12-27-2007, 10:41 PM
Could agree with you more...Jim rocks!

James48843
12-27-2007, 10:56 PM
Welcome aboard.

I bought evergreen solar about three years back, when the expanded their production line up in -where was it? Mass.?

Nice piece of the future.

As for your model portfolio, you say you have 45% I Fund, 30% C Fund, 25% S Fund.

Let me give you this word- The I fund is nice, but it has it's downside as well. It's done very nicely recently. But a change in the direction of the dollar (as we've seen in the last month) could signal a time for a readjustment.