PDA

View Full Version : Investing after service?

stangia254
11-13-2007, 11:55 PM
I'm new at the TSP game and I had a quick question that someone might be able to answer for me. Can you still put money into TSP after you get out of the military after 20yrs?

Show-me
11-14-2007, 01:22 AM
No, I can only be done through payroll deduction and you have to be on the rolls. Welcome to the message board and best of luck.

stangia254
11-14-2007, 02:55 AM
Ok, so the only way for me to continue contributing is to get a government job after the military. Well at least I got 16 years to look for one. Thanks for the welcome.

Show-me
11-14-2007, 06:18 AM
You don't have to get a government job unless you want to. lol Many companies have 401k which is similar thing as TSP or you can open a Traditional IRA with a brokerage account.

Many companies are actively looking for prior military folks and they have nice benefits. Burlington Northern Santa Fe is one that has really ramped up military recruiting.

http://www.bnsf.com/careers/jobs.html

Also the USPS allows vets to take the entrance exam and you get extra points for being a vet (5 points) or a disabled vet (10 points). Disabled vets get hired first regardless of score for some jobs and then you can move around once you are in the system through promotion. Getting IN is the first step.

I'm not recommend anyone work for the USPS, but you can transfer from the USPS to other agencies.

If any vets need some tips, give me a pm or hit me up on my account talk.

stangia254
11-14-2007, 12:53 PM
Ok, sorry I'm slow to pick this up. Just so I have this all right. After I retire I can no longer invest in my TSP account, say I set up the L2040, unless I have a government job. But I can transfer my TSP to an IRA? Just so I don't waste anymore of your time is there a FAQ about this stuff anywhere. Thanks

Show-me
11-14-2007, 01:02 PM