PDA

View Full Version : Dazed and confused, but learning :)

Rustynutt
08-21-2007, 03:50 AM
Rustynutt. Probably not what you think. My hobby is playing around with old motorcycles. A long time ago, a particularly stubborn rusted up nut cause all sorts of problems. Being I see myself as old, at least relative to other nuts that race motorcycles off road, thought Rustynutt was a fairly descriptive username :)

I’m DOD with 25 years of service. I’m under FERS, and my MRA is 56 years and 8 months. I don’t plan to stay a day longer, not to say I’m going to retire completely. I’m 51 years now. I’ve been an Engineering Tech my whole career, and before DOD service, a CNC programmer/machinist. Working for the Navy has provided a very broad Engineering background, but I don’t design bridges, or pretend to have any idea how the market works:)

A few years back I use to find myself running home at lunch a to check how the markets were doing (computer access at work was very limited), and got so fustrated when the market dumped while under the old transfer system, I moved back to the G fund where I've lived for most of the duration, until recently splitting my account into two funds.

In the G fund I maintain enough to pay off my current home. It’s just a number, but feel safer playing it that way. I’ve never been to Las Vegas, and the thought of loosing a dollar, much less several thousand drives me nuts:nuts: