PDA

View Full Version : Investing in Storage Units

Gilligan
12-05-2006, 12:12 PM
In this thread we can discuss the “storage unit” part of real estate investments. Storage units, AKA: mini storage, self storage, lock-n-store, climate controlled storage and others.

In the past couple of decades we have seen a boom of the storage industry. Americans are so prosperous that they/we suffer from “TMS” (too much stuff). Many times people will pay more to store their belongings that what the items are worth. We will discuss new construction as well as buying an existing storage complex. I am not an expert at this but I do have some experience. I don’t have all the answers, however I am willing to share what info I have obtained.

Show-me
12-05-2006, 01:27 PM
How about PODS.

VirginiaBob
12-05-2006, 02:00 PM
I don't think your money will increase while sitting in a storage unit. That's the same idea as keeping your money under your mattress. Might as well put it in a 5% savings account rather than leaving it sitting in some storage unit.

Gilligan
12-05-2006, 11:31 PM
How about PODS.
PODS or storage containers are also a big business. I don’t use them because they don’t appreciate in value like a regular steel building. I have seen storage containers placed next to each other to create a storage complex. They normally come in sixes of 8X20 or 8X40. If an investor was considering starting a storage business in an area where there was not one, thus he would not know the vacancy rate or market, he could obtain a few storage containers and rent them out to test the water. Around here a 8X20 runs for $1000 and up depending on the age/condition, the closer one is to a port, the lower the price generally.

I don't think your money will increase while sitting in a storage unit. That's the same idea as keeping your money under your mattress. Might as well put it in a 5% savings account rather than leaving it sitting in some storage unit.

Bob,