PDA

View Full Version : Diversification??

Pilgrim
05-10-2006, 07:44 AM
God article on how the time honored strategy of diversification is becoming problematic.

http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/fortune_archive/2006/05/15/8376864/index.htm

rokid
05-10-2006, 10:34 AM
Interesting, but not surprising.

Small cap stocks have always been highly correlated with the S&P 500.

At times, international large cap stocks are highly correlated with the S&P 500. At other times, they are less highly correlated.

Historically, bonds and T-bills have a low correlation with the S&P 500.

Good diversification requires holding asset classes that have low correlations.

Dave M
05-10-2006, 03:27 PM
...which in our case is G and I. D

rokid
05-10-2006, 04:54 PM
And F.;)

shiftomnimega
05-10-2006, 09:42 PM
Can someone take me to school on this one? I'm pretty new to the game.

Isn't everything positively correlated because just about everything is doing super well for the past few years? Is the market not allowed to be this awesome all over the spectrum some of the time? Does the fact that Small Cap Foreign Stocks being postively correlated to Domestic Blue Chips have to mean something or couldn't it all be a big coincidence?

Moreover, if I'm not diversified by putting a little into Large Caps, a little less into small caps, and a hunk into Foreign, how do I diversify? Do I invest in negatively correlated sector funds? A little in Financials, some Science and Tech, and some more in... something else?

Spaf
05-10-2006, 10:59 PM
Diversification: an investment strategy designed to reduce exposure to risk by combining a variety of investments, such as U.S. stocks, international stocks, bonds and cash, which are unlikely to all move in the same direction.

fuzzduzz
05-12-2006, 08:58 AM
Diversification according to William O'Neal is a way for an investor who doesn't know what he is doing to cover his but!!!

Spaf
05-12-2006, 09:34 AM