PDA

View Full Version : Who is Retiring, or Retired?

tsptalk
01-10-2006, 09:03 PM
How many of you are either retired or within a couple of years of retiring? With our good friend Spaf and others retiring, we need to come up with new features here on TSP Talk as your allocation strategies will certainly be changing.

Please post any ideas you may have for the site that would be geared toward our retired members and short timers.

Thanks.
Tom

Spaf
01-10-2006, 11:49 PM
The retirement strategy

The question is: How do we help each other?

I'm kind of new to the FERS short time position. Haven't been here before!

July 31st is my retirement date. And, I feel like I've been treated like a "mushroom" concerning my retirement strategy.

If any members would like to chime in, please do! Maybe, just maybe we can make the road a bit smoother for those that follow.

Thanks Tom!

Regards, and lets be careful! :) Spaf

Dave M
01-11-2006, 09:26 AM
Strategy? The strategic goal is accomplished once one retires -- to work no more. After that the goal is to find ways to fill the hours. For me that means chess, wargaming, bicycling, getting out on the water.

Dave

Birchtree
01-11-2006, 07:17 PM
I know I thing for sure - life actually begins at 60 - and a little extra jingle in the pocket sure makes it delightful. Power account, baby, power account.

Dennis - give me Dow 17,000 and S&P 1700 and I buy the lake place and entertain the eventual grand kids.We'll talk more - got lots of ideas to save taxes.

Master
01-11-2006, 09:53 PM
Tom,
You might want to re-poll using 5-year brackets. Just as recommended allocation. People with many more years to retirement will probably have higher tolerance for risk... like going back on the market at its peak.
I have 25 yrs to retirement (67).
M

yakers
01-12-2006, 03:45 PM