PDA

View Full Version : left funds alone!

knowlittle
12-20-2005, 04:03 PM
I contribute15% to my tsp account and have 50% going to S and 50% going to I. I have left it like that for a while. I have been contributing for 4 yrs. Is it the right move to leave it alone? Some guys I know put it all towards the C fund and have left it like that for many years, which is better for someone who does not know much about the market and has many years of contributing left?

rokid
12-20-2005, 04:17 PM
I'd put it in the L 2040 fund and forget it! ;)

Sr
12-20-2005, 06:17 PM
rokid wrote:
I'd put it in the L 2040 fund and forget it! ;)I agree with you if the investor was in need of reduced volatility while he is in accumulate/grow phase for years on out. IOW, the man wants to sleep better than eat better. I know many who wants growth(eat better)but have no interest at all about the mkt and are busy with life in general without missing sleep. The fundamental problem with diversification for the latter types is that itdoes not build wealth as good as concentration-provided you can withstand the volatility. I agree not many can do so and hence diversified portfolio is smart for majority of folks. But even for them why reduce return F and G funds in the mix? A 33 C, 33 S and 34 I will do just fine over 15 years. Viewing a holistic portfolio of pension, social security and personal saving for retirement, all americans are over weighted in fixed income. If you assume pension and social security are annuity income stream froma bond fund over 15-20 years in retirement, the net present value of this income stream in aholisitv portfolio of an average ameriican exceeds one quarter million dollars. How much more fixed income do you want? Learn to earn more and sleep better inspite of volatility of your savings. Any way that is my 2 cents. L2040 is good minus fixed income asset class.

rokid
12-20-2005, 07:29 PM