PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain "Interest rate on TSP loans"?

Hybrid93Hatch
12-16-2005, 08:37 PM
Hi,

nQQb to this site and must say I will be doing a lot of surfing on it since I am big with investing and watching my account grow :D

I have been contributing to TSP for over 3 years now.

When you look at the loan page what does this mean:

"The current interest rate is 4.625%"

Is this the rate I must pay back on top of my loan? If so, is that 4.625% put into my TSP account?

Thinking about taking a loan out and wouild like to get this cleared up first.

Thanks for any help with this :^

tsptalk
12-16-2005, 08:45 PM
Welcome Hybrid. That is correct. The interesrt rate is what you pay yourself and it all goes back into your account.

Thanks for joining us!
Tom

Sr
12-16-2005, 10:38 PM
Hybrid93Hatch wrote:

I wouldreconsider taking loan out of TSP because you are repaying the loan with after tax dollars backin to a TSP pot that holds pre tax money. Even if you are paying yourself the interest on the amount you borrowed, this is a bad deal because regardless of your tax bracket, every dollar you pay back in now is already taxed in your paycheck today.When it is time to take this dollar you just paid back, out of the TSPwhen you retire, you will pay tax on it again.

Now why would you want to pay tax onyour hard earneddollar two times?

Hybrid93Hatch
12-16-2005, 11:07 PM
Sr wrote:
Hybrid93Hatch wrote:

I wouldreconsider taking loan out of TSP because you are repaying the loan with after tax dollars backin to a TSP pot that holds pre tax money. Even if you are paying yourself the interest on the amount you borrowed, this is a bad deal because regardless of your tax bracket, every dollar you pay back in now is already taxed in your paycheck today.When it is time to take this dollar you just paid back, out of the TSPwhen you retire, you will pay tax on it again.

Now why would you want to pay tax onyour hard earneddollar two times?