PDA

View Full Version : TSP or IRA

Ralphie
06-21-2005, 07:17 PM
I'm new to this great site and have a question may be someone can help.

I retired about 3 years ago and have not touched my TSP. Don't REALLY need to take monthly draws on it yet.

Should I just hold on to the TPS or roll it over in to an IRA ??

Any help would be great but please keep it simple.

THANKS........retired and loving it !!! :D

06-21-2005, 07:31 PM
You may want to play theconversion game and roll some of your TSP to a ROTH. Just enough not to put you into the next tax bracket.

That as simple as I can get and probably the best thing for you to do longer term.

IMHO. :)

Ralphie
06-21-2005, 07:42 PM
May seem like a stupid question but what would be my ADVANTAGE to doing that. I'm not very knowlegable about these things.

06-21-2005, 07:43 PM
When you take the money out of your ROTHs, years and years, from now hopefully.

You will have to pay no tax.

If you have a little buffer to the next bracket that may be the wise thing to do.

I believe tax rates in the future will be higher then they are now.

Good luck.

Ralphie
06-21-2005, 07:51 PM
THANKS for the info that makes it a little clearer to me.

Ralph

06-21-2005, 07:59 PM
Let me know if you need more guidance or help.

Once again this is just my advice. You may want to read about ROTHs and think about where you think tax rates will be in the future. I am just telling you what I "think" would be best. I could be wrong.

Good luck.

Welcome to the board. :)

Birchtree
06-21-2005, 07:59 PM
Ralphie,

I'll make an attempt to start this conversation - but first you should know to whom the information comes from. I am a renegade type contrarian Bull who happens to be a republican capitalist. You just have to take this advise with 2 grains of salt.

My first question is: what has the TSP money been doing the last 3 years? If it has been sitting in the G fund we will have start further down the hill in preparation.