PDA

View Full Version : Does micro management pay off? A question from a newb

ACBrown
05-25-2005, 06:09 PM
Hello all,

Does micro management pay off?

Yep, that's right, I'm new to all of this, so go easy on me. I’ve been in the TSP for about 5 years and I simply allocated the money in the G Fund (100%).I haven’t thought much about it. However, I’m becoming interested in doing better (for it looks like one CAN do a lot better).

Here’s my question.

Suppose Iallocate all my money in the C fund for the next 5-10 years. How much improvement do you think one can realistically do over that, supposing I go the weekly-tweak-it route (or daily-tweak)? Are the dividends really substantial enough to go to all the trouble? How much improvement are we talking about, if any?

Of course, this assumes that I tweak well. But let’s say I strictly follow the allotment of, say, this website (the guy who hosts it...Because heaven knows that I don’t really know what I’m doing when it comes to feeling the market and analyzing trends).

Thanks,

Austin

P.S. I’m 29 years old. That might be pertinent information. And BTW, great website!

rokid
05-25-2005, 06:55 PM
AC,

There are two schools of thought.

1.) Active management: You can beat the market through active management, i.e. tweaks. Most of the posters to this site advocate this approach. Most experts say it can't be done.

2.) Passive management: You're better off diversifying and sticking to a strategic allocation based on your capacity and tolerance for risk. If you decide to go the second route, you'll probably want to allocate 80-90% to stocks and the rest to bonds. Most investment experts advocate this approach. In addition, check Pete1's posts for reasons to go this route. If you keep 100% G Fund, you'll beat inflation - if you're lucky. However, you won't build a portfolio capable of sustaining yourretirement - unless you don't need much!