PDA

View Full Version : TSP Annuity Question

Dooper
05-17-2005, 09:28 PM
Does anyone have an opinion on buying a TSP immediate annuity (MetLife) compared to going out in the marketplace for an immediate annuity. Would it make sense to roll over the TSP into an IRA and then buy several annuities over time? How much of a premium should an inflation protected joiny annuity pay over say a 10 year Treasury.

What if MetLife had financial problems? Isn't an annuity just an unsecured loan to a very complex financial institution? Would U.S. make good on the TSP annuities if there was a problem.

Wheels
05-17-2005, 09:43 PM
I'm not an expert, far from it in fact, but I think most experts would tell you not to buy an annuity period. From TSP (MetLife) or anyone else.

Dave

Birchtree
05-18-2005, 06:16 PM
Wheels,

You got that right-I've never met a life insurance company I liked. Why bet on your life and pay all those fees for the pleasure of doing so.

I would recomend keeping the funds in the TSP. Become more cognizant of the investing climate and make even more money while in retirement-especially when you will have more time. Moving some funds to an IRA would be advisable-you have more flexibility. When you control your tax bracket you can begin to shift from a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA providing you are under the income limitations.

If you are concerned about leaving money to heirs- the IRAs' may be the simplest way to approach the situation. Pyriel has offered some advice in one of the forums that you may find enlightening. Beware of IRS traps that are in place-you are entering a complex arena.

Dennis

azanon
06-01-2005, 02:25 PM
I second these opinions; annuities only make sense if you have no self-control and need have someone else take your money to pay you a fixed amount over time for the rest of your life.