PDA

View Full Version : Share Price via Allotment

CPT_Shane
04-03-2005, 04:53 AM
Hey everyone,

New guy here. I have a question concerning my allotment. My allotment is removed from my check one a month, as I am an active duty Army Officer. When it is deducted from my pay and goes into my TSP on the specific date, is that the share price I am charged for? Any help in explaining this would be great.

tsptalk
04-03-2005, 12:34 PM
Welcome CPT_Shane!

I have never found an exact answer to this question. My assumption is, and someone please step in here if I'm off base, that you get the prior COB price of the day the money is first put in there.

In other words if you get up on a Friday morning and your new money is there, you likely bought in on Thursday's COB prices.

Thanks for joining us!
Tom

coolhand
04-03-2005, 01:11 PM
tsptalk wrote:
In other words if you get up on a Friday morning and your new money is there, you likely bought in on Thursday's COB prices.

Thanks for joining us!
Tom
That's how it works for me. Welcome CPT_Shane!

CPT_Shane
04-04-2005, 10:42 AM
Tsptalk and coolhand,

Thanks a lot. I love the site! My next question would be:

Thinking long term here, wouldn't it be a good idea to go by the double cost averaging principle by staying 100% C fund during SP 500 declines, and then shifting 100% to the G fund on peaks, then back again to C fund when the share prices drop? Thus creating a profit per C fund share and allowing the opportunity to purchase more G fund shares with the profit created by the rise in share price in the C fund? Basically shifting 100% of your allotment and conducting interfund transfers between the C and G funds during peaks and valleys.Did that make any sense? Or does the military TSP only reflect profit annually? Or do you recommend staying 100% C fund over the whole long term? By long term I am suggesting 15 years or longer.