PDA

View Full Version : New to investing in TSP, looking for suggestions on how best to invest

Maxwell
02-19-2005, 09:36 AM
Hello. I am new to investing in TSP. At least in taking a more active role in investing in the different funds. I am one of the ones that just put 100% in the G Fund and just left it there. Now I am trying to gain a better understanding of the market and understand how best to invest in the different funds. Onequestion is that on the allocations page of this site showing the current percentage allocated in the different funds, I see that 100% is invested in the G Fund, however the G Fund is only at $10.74, whereas the S Fund is at $14.47 and the I Fund is at $15.65. At this time wouldn't it be better to invest in the S and I Fund? I believe I am missing something here. If someone would be so kind as to explain this to me so that I may have a better understanding, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

02-19-2005, 09:46 AM
Maxwell wrote:
Onequestion is that on the allocations page of this site showing the current percentage allocated in the different funds, I see that 100% is invested in the G Fund, however the G Fund is only at $10.74, whereas the S Fund is at $14.47 and the I Fund is at $15.65. At this time wouldn't it be better to invest in the S and I Fund? I believe I am missing something here. If someone would be so kind as to explain this to me so that I may have a better understanding, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

I think you're missing alot.

1. The allocations page is how Tom (Mr. TSPTalk) is allocating his portfolio at the present time. Other member allocations are listed in a different section. Each are acting to make the best of what they view is on the horizon.

2. The current price of the funds has no relevancy whatsoever. Your goal is to invest in the fund that will go up the most, percentage-wise (or go down the least.)

Rolo
02-19-2005, 11:04 AM
saraho wrote:
I think you're missing alot.

My, my, such tact! :x

[line]