PDA

View Full Version : QUICKEN

Frixxxx
04-11-2012, 08:47 AM
A new thread for those who use Quicken for budgeting/financial planning. Please post questions or tips here.

RealMoneyIssues
04-11-2012, 09:18 AM
Use Mint.com

Thats my tip ;)

Steel_Magnolia
04-11-2012, 12:41 PM
I've been using Quicken for my financial accounts since 1992. I have back-ups of my backups, online and hard copy. That's the only down-side to having that much data in electronic format, that and the fact that you have to upgrade versions about every 3 to 4 years because they quit supporting old versions after a while. I love the auto downloads from my accounts, how easily the data is searchable, and it really saves me time on my tax prep. I used MS Money for a while but Quicken felt more intuitive to me. JMO.

I do use the budgeting tool and it helps me to keep on track and to project into the future as well. I haven't used the investing areas of the software and look forward to reading the comments of those who do.

Frixxxx
04-11-2012, 02:50 PM
Use Mint.com

Thats my tip ;)

You do realize that mint.com is owned by Intuit?

RealMoneyIssues
04-11-2012, 03:14 PM
You do realize that mint.com is owned by Intuit?

Yes, posted that very fact this morning in your MSMoney thread.

Frixxxx
04-11-2012, 03:59 PM
Yes, posted that very fact this morning in your MSMoney thread.
Guess I should read then post!:embarrest:

Boghie
04-14-2012, 02:06 PM
How about a nice tip on using Quicken to document and manage your salary contributions? Believe it or not, that was how I found TSPTalk back in the day. Long - more or less - before 'The Great Collapse of 2008'. That would be around 2007. Anyway, how can you quickly enter those pesky salary contributions into Quicken so you can view your expected returns and expected risk as well as your long term Internal Rate of Return. And, stuff...