PDA

View Full Version : TSP Investment

ecmpdx
01-08-2012, 06:35 PM
1st time poster

I am a beginner investor and i would like to increase the growth of my money at a faster pace, i am currently invested as follows. 30% G, 40% S, 20% C, 10% I .

Is this a good division of funds to increase my growth , or should i change the division of funds for better growth at a faster pace.

RealMoneyIssues
01-08-2012, 07:44 PM
ecmpdx, first off welcome to the board.

To touch on your question... The answer you are looking for can only be provided by a qualified financial person, and if my memory serves me right, none of us are. With that said, if you are looking for a place to plan your TSP as an investment, I don't think this site is specifically what you are looking for... The folks here move their money based on market changes in expectations of beating the buy and hold strategy (aka investing). There are some very prominent Buy and Holders here (uh, Birchtree comes to mind) but then again, most are not positioning their TSP funds in a "diversified" manner like you are describing.

However, I would highly recommend you take some time and read through the forum posts, search for answers using the search functionality, and then if you can't find a specific answer make an entry and folks will answer best they can...

My funds were spread out similar to yours, 5% G, 5% F, 40% C, 25% S, and 25% (did 14-15% last year) I before I decided to take charge. If I had stayed at that, I would have lost 5% last year. Since deciding to take control, I made 6% (however, I would have made more had I not made a bad move in August costing me 15%). Take a look at the people at the top of the Autotracker (http://www.tsptalk.com/tracker/tsp-tracker.php) and see what is possible.

I hope this helps.

Good Luck !!

SteelSaving
01-08-2012, 08:21 PM
Just for the record, could anyone offering advice on the site to a fellow such as this get themselves or the website in trouble?

nnuut