Likes Likes:  0

Thread: SteveTSP's Account Talk

Default SteveTSP's Account Talk

I plan to retire in 3 years with my wife after 35 years of civil service in the Navy for both of us. Hoping to obtain a reasonable gain on the many years of TSP allocations. I am an engineer by trade and it appears that I have very little knowledge of how the market system works. Previous plan for my fund allocation was (15% F / 60% C / 15% S / 10% I) over the last two years. I did not like what was occurring to my TSP account with the recent downturn in the market since Oct 07 and wanted to jump in an take control. So far I have done very poorly over this past month (since I am very impatient person) but hope to become smarter with my new interest in TSP Talk forum discussions. Steve

Default Re: SteveTSP's Account Talk

Welcome aboard!
    To get to the light at the end of the tunnel, you have to be willing to face the train.

My IFT's prior to Auto Tracker:
    1/2/08 to 1/18/08: G 0% F 15% C 60% S 15% I 10% Return: -8.19%
    1/22/08 to 1/24/08: G 70% F 30% C 0% S 0% I 0% Return: -8.18%
    1/25/08 to 1/30/08: G 1000% F 0% C 0% S 0% I 0% Return: -8.11%
    1/31/08 to 2/4/08: G 0% F 100% C 0% S 0% I 0% Return: -7.80%
    2/5/08 to today: G 0% F 0% C 0% S 0% I 100% Return: -11.54% 2/13/08
    As you can see, my move into the I fund on 2/5 for a guess of a 2% bounce did not happen and I am still thinking and hoping for my next move!

Thanks Dr F, I have really enjoyed reading your posts and thanks for taking to time to say hi! Steve