Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Skooby's Account Talk

Default Skooby's Account Talk

My first post!

I'm asking everyone for some opinions on what I should do with my account. I'm still kinda new to the whole thing, so any thoughts are welcome. It doesn't seem like i'm gaining anything. Where should my funds be allocated?

Here's my account as it stands right now:

G Fund: $$,$$$ - Contributing 0%

F Fund: $$,$$$ - Contributing 0%

C Fund: $$,$$$ - Contributing 30%

S Fund: $$,$$$- Contributing 30%

I Fund: $$,$$$- Contributing 40%

Total: Approx $,$$$,$$$
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Any tips on what I should be doing?
    Last edited by nnuut; 12-21-2007 at 07:01 AM.

Default Re: Skooby's Account Talk

Welcome to the board Skooby, we normally don't post account dollar value on the board. It isn't in your best interest, you know how the internet is. I edited your post for you. I'm sure you will get plenty of responses to your post.
    Norman

Quote Originally Posted by nnuut View Post
    Welcome to the board Skooby, we normally don't post account dollar value on the board. It isn't in your best interest, you know how the internet is. I edited your post for you. I'm sure you will get plenty of responses to your post.
    Norman
    ok. I'll say it like this then:

Of my total balance I have

34.70% in G Fund
    24.97% in C Fund
    20.03% in S Fund
    20.30% in I Fund

Skooby,

1. What are your investing goals? In other words, what percentage return do you want/need to earn from your TSP account?

2. How many years until you start withdrawing from TSP, i.e. what's your investment horizon?

3. How much risk are you willing to take, i.e. how much can you afford to lose, percentage-wise, in a year? Note, #3 is directly related to #1.

4. How many hours a week are you willing to invest in managing your account?

Welcome to the board.------Jim