PDA

View Full Version : Where to start? 26, looking at the big picture

yehiah
11-26-2010, 10:40 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to TSP Talk and to investing in general so I'm still trying to get my head wrapped around all of this. I'm 26 years old, and have been with the feds about 2.5 years. All my money was in the G fund until recently when I put 70% into the L2040 and 15% into F and G. I know you need to take some risk to make gains, thus the 70% in L. But I also want to have some "secure" funds. My questions are 1) Is 70% too much to have invested in an L fund- is it too risky? and 2) What is the benefit of splitting your investments between the individual C, F, I, G and S funds, rather than putting the same amount in the L which combines all of these? and 3) Is there any way to protect gains? For example, if you own 30 shares and the price of those shares goes up from $14 to $19, is it possible and/or wise to move those shares out of that fund so as to avoid losses in the event the prices drop? I hear a lot about buy and hold, but don't exactly understand how you hold. Thanks! Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!!!

Boghie
11-26-2010, 11:27 AM
Yehiah,

The L2040 Fund is currently split up as follows (it changes – gets less aggressive - as time goes by):

G: 10%
F: 10%
C: 40%
S: 17%
I: 23%According to Quicken this allocation has an average return of 8% and an average standard deviation (risk) of 10%. That means that you will average a return of 8% a year – but, under normal circumstances, you can expect a return of -2% to +18% in any single year. Note: 2008 was a special year (ie. a crash). The L2040 lost 31.53% in 2008. That was a crash of almost five standard deviations!!!

Anyway, you have kinda mucked up the idea of the L funds by investing in individual funds as well. Your current allocation is (in reality):

G: 22%
F: 22%
C: 28%
S: 12%