PDA

View Full Version : CRASH!

nnuut
08-24-2015, 09:04 AM
NYSE Will Suspend Stock Trading If S&P 500 Index Plunges 7%http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-08-24/nyse-will-suspend-stock-trading-if-s-p-500-index-plunges-7-

RazorCat
08-24-2015, 09:15 AM
I hope one of the market experts will explain. What's the reasoning behind suspending trading for short periods at the specified benchmarks they stated? I would (strictly) guess that it's an attempt to avert a free fall. ??????????????

Is this a normal strategy that's been executed before?

userque
08-24-2015, 09:18 AM
I hope one of the market experts will explain. What's the reasoning behind suspending trading for short periods at the specified benchmarks they stated? I would (strictly) guess that it's an attempt to avert a free fall. ??????????????

Is this a normal strategy that's been executed before?

Happens from time to time. I'm no expert, so I'll leave you with these links:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trading_curb

http://www.cnbc.com/id/44059883

RazorCat
08-24-2015, 09:27 AM
Thanks for the links userque.
I honestly can't say I've ever paid attention when this may have happened in the past.

James48843
08-24-2015, 09:35 AM
In my experience-

When people start using the word "crash", it most often signals one heck of a great buying opportunity.

nnuut
08-24-2015, 09:36 AM
That's standard procedure for the NYSE!
Do ya think the PPT will jump in on this one and lighten the load, I do!

userque
08-24-2015, 09:43 AM
Thanks for the links userque.
I honestly can't say I've ever paid attention when this may have happened in the past.

You're welcome...sounds like either you've got more skin in the game this time; or you're paying more attention.:smile:

userque
08-24-2015, 09:47 AM
That's standard procedure for the NYSE!
Do ya think the PPT will jump in on this one and lighten the load, I do!

Me too. :smile:

James48843
08-24-2015, 09:57 AM