PDA

View Full Version : TSP strategy for mid 40's with 20 years till retirement. Anyone? Bueller?

coastalite
12-15-2011, 04:01 PM
Hello to all and thank you in advance for any advice and opinions you may have. I am in need of some help and am so happy to have stumbled onto this site.

I've been saving for a good 15+ years or so, investing $630 each month into my TSP and have pretty much been going 50% into C, 25% into S, and 25% into I.

I have $21.5K (9%) sitting alone in F with no money allocated to it. The rest of the money is 57% sitting in C, 18% in S, and 16% in I with a grand total of $260K saved.

I kind of stuck my head in the sand and took a beating when the economy soured. I don't know if I should moved everything to G & F so I just kept everything status quo (in C, S, & I).

It appears that S (down 7.63% for 2011) & I (down 14.90&) aren't doing very well in 2011. Should I get out of I completely? Am I foolish to sit here and take a beating in I or is the thought that it is wise to stay in because I am buying shares at a lower price in hopes they will go back up?

Is it time to start going a bit more conservative now that I am in my mid 40's?

I was thinking about changing it up and doing an Interfund Transfer AND Re-Allocating everything to: 25% C, 25% F, 25% S, and 25% G.

Thoughts?

Birchtree
12-15-2011, 05:28 PM
You'll be invested long after you retire - stay with your current program. Slow money with dollar cost averaging is the best approach. Accumulate as many shares as you can at these lower prices. When the market finally sees the light you'll zoom even faster than imaginable.

nasa1974
12-16-2011, 07:55 AM
coastalite, This is a great place to learn. Welcome aboard. Sure sounds like you have been doing a good job so far. Good luck.

nnuut
12-16-2011, 08:17 AM
Welcome to the Board coastalite!
Best of luck.
Norman

coastalite
12-16-2011, 12:29 PM